Many people think that public celebrations (like national holidays, festivals etc.) are a waste of money and that the government should spend those funds in a better way. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a widely held belief that public holidays is crucial for society and state should pour money for that. But there are strong counter arguments by a section of people who think that government has to solve the public problems. I am of the opinion that this matter should be debated in the light of several factors before any conclusion can be drawn.

Firstly, national holidays or festival will create unity a to celebrate everyone part of belongs to that society and which everyone gather in common place and whoever can celebrate it lot. Secondly, nowadays people are mentally suffering lot with the stress due to their official work or personal problems in order to that they are looking for a celebration to overcome from the stress and they are expecting holiday to enjoy with their surroundings. For instance, In Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, people are really working hard with the lot of stress and heavy workload but when Ramadan comes, everyone gather in common areas and who are all sharing their happiness to everyone and they distribute sweets and food to everyone.

On the other hand, most of the countries, people are suffering lot with their basic needs such as food, cloths and accommodation in order to get it. One of the survey which explain to us that still 64% people are in below poverty and who are all not getting benefits from the government. For example, In Australia, there is a biggest celebration happens on Sydney for New Year, they will burst crackers for half an hour which is cost around one Million dollars but one of the survey is saying 20% people who do not have a job.

To recapitulate this, government can pour money to celebrate public holidays but before that they have to full-fill people basic needs to make them happy that is always a good celebration.