Many people today would argue that cinemas are becoming irrelevant due to new streaming services.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Are cinemas losing their popularity amongst people owing to the appearance of new streaming tools? Are they going to be replaced with these services in the near future? These are the questions that many have been bombarded with in recent years. Although it is opined by some that most people, no longer, do not go to cinemas due to the advent of new services such as Netflix, Opera, HBO and so forth, it will be proven by this essay that it heavily depends on individuals’ personal circumstances. In other words, some are avidly interested to watch a movie in a cinema since it is a source of entertainment and others prefer to see that film by streaming on the mentioned applications because of the family gatherings. Throughout the following paragraphs, these points of paramount importance will be meticulously scrutinized.

Some, for one, have a strong tendency to go to cinemas inasmuch as they can entertain themselves in their spare time, recharging their batteries and feeling refreshed. Take a 19-year-old teenager watching a movie called Dexter in Avatar Cinema in Toronto, with a bunch of his intimate friends, as an illustration. Since he finds this recreational activity engrossingly amazing, without any doubt, he will not stop going there whereas he can stay at home and watch it by using Netflix. It is, thus, exemplified by this glaringly apparent instance that some tend to go to a cinema to have fun as a pastime; as a result, it will remain popular among them no matter how many enticing streaming services are going to be introduced in the future.

Although some give preference to cinemas, others have the propensity to utilize newly released streaming services at their home since this is a practical approach to having adequate quality time with their families. In Toronto, since many are terribly engaged with their job and have a hectic lifestyle, they are into watching movies on HBO with their families at nights, to illustrate. By doing this, not only can they spend enough time with their beloved ones, but they can strengthen their bonds. By shedding light on this example, it is, therefore, crystal clear that people based on their circumstances pick cinema or streaming services.

To recapitulate, after careful situational analysis, some are a big fan of cinema due to its amusing nature. However, others widely capitalize on new streaming tools to watch their favourite movies with their families because they are considerably busy with their careers and this is a viable method to form a close relationship with them; hence, this does not mean that cinemas are going to be obsolete.