Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities.

Does this situation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Some people think that it is better to work more than the normal working hours to earn more money, consequently, they left with little time for free-time activities. In my opinion, I consider that this trend would have more negative impacts on our health instead of advantages.

Admittedly, people can earn an enormous fortune by working day and night. In other words, doing extra time would fetch a significant amount of money which can fulfill some extra needs and luxuries for people. For instance, Steve Jobs, an eminent personality used to work for more than 12 hours a day, which made him a billionaire and successful person. What is more, this also aids in achieving professional goals because spending more time at workplaces would make it easy for employees to complete the pending tasks and targets which is otherwise not possible in normal office timings.

Despite these advantages, it has numerous disadvantages. Firstly, hard work without any enjoyment makes life stressful because when less time is devoted to recreational activities, then the level of stress increases and it brings various mental problems. Recently, a survey by Delhi university revealed that those who work for more than 8 hours a day and do not have any physical activity are more prone to depression and anxiety. Secondly, it is detrimental to physical well-being in addition to mind. The human body has its own limitations, and working more than limits could cause serious diseases such as obesity, headache, backbone problems and overweight. Finally, it negatively affects family relationships as spending extra hours in offices would create problems in fulfilling the family commitments which will ultimately lead to the divorce between couples and clash of personal and professional interests.

In conclusion, although there are benefits in form of success and enormous fortune in case we work hard and ignore everything, there are serious damages which it can cause to our mind and body which cannot be repaired. I believe that we should maintain a balance between both things in order to have jubilant and healthy life.