Many people work long hours leaving very little time for leisure activities Does this situation has more advantages or more disadvantages

People are working really hard nowadays to make both ends meet. Working till late hours is commonly practiced by the people across the globe, this leads to a lesser time for their enjoyment. I believe, working for additional hours may help a person to achieve their career goals quickly, however it negative impact on health of a person and social relation is much greater.

Nowadays people prefer to work overtime to prove their dedication towards their company. This indirectly help them to get a promotion sooner. For instance, an article published by Times job stated that employees that work for more than 55 hours, have higher chances of getting a promotion quickly. Also, monetary issues can also be resolved when an individual work for extra hours, as they are paid twice the amount than their regular hours of work.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of working for longer hours should not be neglected. One of the major issue is, health problems. A person do not get enough time to do physical activity when they dedicate most of their time to work. This results in various health issues, especially obesity which is a common problem. Job's that require an individual to stick to their chair in front of the computer often face weight gain issues. Also, increased screen timings leads to eye related diseases like blurry vision or myopia. Apart from physical problems, a lot of mental illness like stress and depression also results, so it is really important to have a leisure time to refresh oneself and have a peace of mind.

In conclusion, the advantage of achieving career goals and quick money seems tempting, however the health problems including obesity and mental illness, affects a persons life to a great extent, and tis should not be taken lightly. So it is important to find Work- Life balance, and one should definitely dedicate some time in spending time for themselves.