In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe that it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

Wouldn’t it be detrimental for an ecosystem to build a society in the countryside area by cutting trees down? Due to a constant increase in population, shelter is the most contentious issue nowadays. Although the countryside can be a new home for people to live, it is not advisable. This essay discusses the possible solution for the space issue inside the city and the importance of the surrounding area of the city to maintain the environment and not to waste it.

While space to live is a major concern nowadays in the city for people to live, high rise buildings are the solution. This does not require a large land space. For example, due to the heavy population, China has built towers of more than a hundred floors which may provide shelter to people. Moreover, these tower blocks are more sustainable and less vulnerable to the earthquake as compared to the normal building as per the scientific research.

The Countryside is the only area surrounding the city with ample amount of trees and farms which is essential for the ecosystem. Large cities with a heavy population such as Mumbai and Delhi don’t have any kind of ruler areas covered with trees. As a result, the amount of pollution is too high as per the government declaration as compared to the green city such as Bangalore. In addition, building new homes would certainly need to clear trees out which may create the imbalance in the environment and give rise to global warming. This might increase the average temperature and create other issues such as no land to farm and less amount of rain. Therefore it is advisable that the countryside should remain natural.

In conclusion, I think that the reconstruction of tall buildings can solve the problem of scarcity of land. However, the countryside is not the ideal alternative to provide shelter as it may give rise to certain serious and unsolvable environmental problems.