Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning languages other than mother tongue is essential in child education. Therefore it raises the claim about learning foreign language whether it should be done in elementary school or intermediate school. I think that learning language in primary school has more benefits. This essay discusses both merits and drawbacks followed by my own view.

Introducing foreign language in elementary school has two major plus points. The first and foremost is the flexibility in accent and adaptability. Pupils can easily learn foreign accent at this age because they start learning to develop various sounds as well as to practise their mother tongue which helps them to grasp other languages as well. The second reason is the time availability for understanding and practice. Good control over any language can only be obtained by rehearsal with other people which is more time-consuming task. Students in secondary schools don't have enough time and versatility for developing accent and rehearsing with others.

On the other hand, students may feel overloaded when they are taught multiple languages in parallel. Most of the basic subjects such as mathematics and science start building their base in primary schools. As a result, more concentration towards language may result in less understanding of basics about other essential subjects. Apart from that, parallel learning of languages may feel confusing. Consequently, children won't be able to grasp even their mother tongue at adequate level. In addition, students from secondary schools with more ability to grasp are able to learn language fast as compared to primary schools. They can also find other good references on the internet to fast their track.

In conclusion, I think grasping foreign language in primary school has own positives and negatives. It is more flexible in terms of time and accent and permits more time for practice. Where as it may lack students in other basic topics and may feel hectic. However, It has more benefits as compared to drawback. Therefore, it is advantageous for schools to introduce foreign languages in primary schools.