Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For the progress of the country as a whole, improvement in the lives of poor people is also equally important as the wealthy and upper-class civilians. Therefore, to create a balance in community, it is essential that the schools and other organizations must provide some free social services to everyone. This essay discusses how it helps the lower class as well as the country itself.

High schools can utilize a small portion of total income in social services such as providing food, medicines and clothes to poor civilians on certain occasions and giving training about the importance of sports, daily exercises in routine life, and so on. With this, schools can satisfy the basic needs of a human being to live and motivate people about living a healthy life. Consequently, it might improve the overall health and also increases the average age of a human being.

Moreover, wouldn't it be helpful in improving literacy by providing free education to capable students? Schools may offer full scholarships to students or organize public seminars about the influence of education on life. Certainly, this will inspire children to study and acquire knowledge. Consequently, this will reduce the burden of government about providing free education and increasing literacy.

However, training and seminars are time-consuming tasks which will apparently reduce the focus on main students who are actually studying in schools by paying fees. Also, it will make schedules of teachers and other employees more hectic.

In conclusion, although unpaid community services might be the reason for the less concentration on other students, the help it does to a penurious community and the profit in terms of education, health and basic needs have a large influence. Therefore, free social services are essential for the nation and it must be in the roadmap of every high school.