Some people believe that everyone should be free to make their own lifestyle choices, even if those choices are unhealthy. Other people think that the government should intervene to influence people’s choices, for example by putting high taxes on unhealthy products.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

As an independent civilian, a person should be free to do whatever he/she wants until it is legal and not hurting others. Although, people believe in the government's intervention to maintain a healthy society, wouldn't it be proven unsatisfactory for some people? This essay discusses both the free life of the community as well as government's intervention about unhealthy products followed by my own perspectives.

An independent country itself means freedom of citizens to make their own lifestyle choices irrespective of health. According to the law and legislation of any free country, people might have their own different interests and choices. For example, people may eat street food or have an addiction to alcohol or cigarettes for their own satisfaction and enjoyment. They will themselves be the victim of the after-effects of whatever activities they are doing and it won't harm other people at all.

However, the working government can decide about the safety of people by doing the sanity check all the available products through a certain process such as ISI and FSSAI - An international organization to do the health-check of a product. Also, it may impose a heavy tax on unhealthy products to prevent their consumptions. This would promote only healthy food in the market and may improve overall public health in the long term. But, this certification process may have certain loop wholes and it cannot cover all the products ideally. Also, it can be biased as it would be done by a person at last. Moreover, it may be proven unsatisfactory for people who prefer unhygienic food and alcohol.

In conclusion, according to me, although unhealthy products may be prevented and overall health can be improved by putting high tax, it would be proven unsatisfactory for some people having all rights of independent civilians. Also, the screening process itself cannot be implemented ideally and might be proven biased. Therefore, people should be free to consume anything irrespective of the product's quality.