Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Due to pollution in the environment and the other natural effects such as global warming, public health is one of the most contentious issues nowadays. Although the increase in the number of sports programs may captivate people, other health-conscious programs are required to create a large influence and improve public health. This essay discusses how sports centres and programs may help and then I will conclude about the sports the only necessity.

Sport is the basic necessity that must be a part of daily life. Therefore, the availability of the sports centre near home can have an accountable impact on routine life by regular sports involvement. For example, most of the people are lazy about going because of the far distance between the home and the centre or playground. So, easy access to such centres would encourage people to take part in various sports or at least do the exercises every day. As a result, the positive effect of sports would be reflected in the healthy lifestyle of the community.

However, sports is not adequate to improve public health. For example, Children and adults may go to the sports centre, but, what about elderly people? They cannot play or do exercises independently. Therefore, apart from that, there must be some facilities such as general body checkup programs at free of cost. This might be helpful for everyone. Also, doctors may promote healthy diet and advice precautions and specific diet plan in special cases. Also, free seminars about good or bad practices about routine life and the detrimental effects of unhygienic outside food would create an immense effect. This will inspire people to implement the best practices such as punctual lunch and dinner, daily yoga, physical exercises and so on. Moreover, this may also change the preference for outside food and eat hygienic and authenticated food.

In conclusion, I think sports facilities may improve public health, but other things are required to encourage and educate people prior to that. Therefore only increasing in the number of facilities won't create any impact on the public except sports friendly community. Other campaigns and health check-up programs are essentials to redirect people towards a healthy lifestyle.