Many sports players advertise sports-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the globalised era, commercialism has become a part-and-parcel of this society where several sportsman endorsing and acting in product plugs connecting to games. Thereby, in this essay, I shall shed some lights on both the merits and demerits of the argument by analysing it.

On the one hand, there are compelling pieces of evidence prove that there are some advantages in endorsing ads by the sportsman. Firstly, they can promote the product in a better way because they themself use some of these products in their line of work. Sachin Tendulkar, for example, advertised for an energy drink which he is personally used for his practice. Hence, while sports person prefers their self analysed product it could be a genuine and trustworthy product. Secondly, these commercials beget the revenue of the players which could be highly beneficial for them to upgrade their status. Hence, it paves a way for them to convert their fame and brand value into money.

On the flip side, this commercialism as some drawbacks as well. Primarily, athletes could be distracted by highly concentrating on publicity. To elucidate, Virat Kholi famous cricket player underperformed in the recent World Cup match. But some people assert that due to his active participation in a myriad of advertisements result in lack of concentration in games. Moreover, players could become money-minded which cause devastating impacts on their gameplay. Consequently, the worse effect could be they become part of deceptive advertisements which would to even detrimental to people. As a result, they jeopardise the life of their admirers.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that popular players are adverting a plethora of sports-related commercials. Ergo, the disadvantages of these commercials outweigh the advantages.