Many students decide to further their study abroad. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad?
Nowadays, taking a year out to live or study abroad is becoming very popular. To many
people, especially young adults the chance to spend an extended period of time overseas
is an attractive one. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages in deciding to
do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the challenges we face when we are
overseas.
When we talk about the advantages of moving abroad, one of the main positives of
heading overseas is that it gives you the freedom and an opportunity to fulfil your dreams.
What I mean by this is that you have the chance to meet people from different cultural
backgrounds and learn to cope with foreign customs and food. This can make you more
satisfied personally.
Secondly, moving abroad can lead to a better quality of life, for example, Australia and
New Zealand are the most livable countries in the world due to economic weather and
especially multicultural societies. These countries have better plans to develop their
countries and encourage a better work ethic to benefit people. In addition by studying
overseas, you can obtain qualifications and language skills which you can’t probably get
from your own country.
However, there are some disadvantages of living or studying in a foreign country. The
main problem is that the people who move to a foreign country experience loneliness. In
my experience, when I first moved to Australia to study I had to make money on my own
for my university fees and I was studying and working virtually all the time
so I felt lonely and missed my family back in Sri Lanka. Furthermore, we have to learn a
new language and always had to communicate with people from different cultures.
Sometimes the weather is terrible in different seasons especially in winter which is the
coldest season and it is really hard to work outside.
All things considered, starting a new life in a foreign country is never easy. You need to
take both the advantages and disadvantages in your stride. To enjoy a better life with
a decent job with luxury vehicles and houses you will have to face issues like cultural
shock and language barriers you have to grind your way to earn money to achieve your
future goals.