Many students decide to further their study abroad. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad?

Nowadays, taking a year out to live and study abroad is becoming very popular. To many people, especially young adults the chance to spend an extended period of time overseas is an attractive one. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages in deciding to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the challenges and opportunities that we have to face when we are in overseas.

When we talk about the advantages of moving abroad for studies, one of the main positives of heading overseas is that it gives you the freedom and an opportunity to fulfil your dreams. What I mean by this is that you have the chance to meet new people from different cultural backgrounds and learn to cope with foreign customs and food. This can make you more satisfied personally. Secondly, moving abroad can lead to a better quality of life, for example, Australia and New Zealand are the most livable countries in the world due to economic, weather and especially multicultural societies. These countries have better plans to develop their countries and encourage a better work ethic to benefit people. In addition by studying overseas, you can obtain the best qualifications and language skills which you can’t probably get from your own country.

However, there are some disadvantages to living and studying in a foreign country. The main problem is that the people who move to a foreign country experience loneliness. In my experience, when I first moved to Australia to study I had to make money on my own for my university fees and I was studying and working virtually all the time. So I felt lonely and missed my family back in Sri Lanka. Furthermore, we have to learn a new language and always had to communicate with people from different cultures. Sometimes the weather is terrible in different seasons especially in winter which is the coldest season and it is really hard to work outside.

All things considered, starting a new life in a foreign country is never easy. You need to take both the pros and cons of your stride. To enjoy a better life with a decent job with luxury vehicles and houses you will have to face issues like culture shock and language barriers you have to grind your way to earn money to achieve your future goals.