Many working people get little to no exercise either during the working day or in their free time and have health problems as a result.

Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

A lot of individuals from the working class end up developing health issues as they do not workout during the work hours or personal time. In the following paragraphs I will explain the reason and the solution for this problem.

The main reason why a large number of working people choose not to take part in physical activity is the lack of energy and time. Nowadays, the work pressure has increased so much that the employers are under a lot of pressure to deliver the work before a deadline. As a result, people stay so busy with their work that they feel exhausted to work out and also do not find sufficient time for it. According to a research conducted by Toronto university it was found that 80% employed people did not have an exercise routine due to long work shifts.

The solution for this issue is a reduction in work hours which would encourage people to have more time to take care of themselves by working out. Also, people would feel less physically exhausted if they work for some reduced hours which would in turn help them to use more energy in exercise. In a survey done by Harvard university it was concluded that people work out more when they have shorter shifts as compared to when they have longer shifts.

To conclude, many employed people struggle with health disorders which are caused due to lack of exercise. It is the lack of sufficient time and physical energy that stops working people from engaging in physical activity. The solution for this is to lessen the amount of time people work so they can utilize it for exercising. I can say from my personal experience that I find it easier to exercise when I only work part time.