Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time and have problems as a result Why do many working people not get enough exercise What can be done about this problem

It is argued that many workers have health issues because of doing neither less nor no exercise during their workdays or spare time. Working extended hours is one of the main reasons for this problem and the employers should encourage their employees to do exercises.

Working more than nine to five is common everywhere in the world. Work commitments and life goals have forced people to work more than forty hours per week and they have sacrificed their sleep, leisure time, healthy eating habits, and fitness. Many working people are exhausted after long hours of shift and no time and energy to engage in fitness activities. For example, the average working per week is 50-60 hours in Sri Lanka and obesity is one of the serious health problems among many office workers.

Working people spend the most valuable time of their life at workplaces. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the employer to look after their employee's health. Employers can help their workers to maintain their fitness in many ways. Awareness is one of the important things and this means that the employer may arrange medical camps where workers would get their BMI measured, receive diet plans, and exercise plans and business owners can arrange the facilities required for doing exercises. For example, employees are granted a free sports club membership sponsored by the employer and granting a special incentive for those who have completed required hours of exercises per month.

In conclusion, many workers have failed to get enough exercises or not doing exercises because they work more and have a lesser number of hours for leisure and fitness. Employers should pay attention to this problem and required to encourage their employees to engage in fitness activities.