Many people believe that a university education is necessary for a good career. Do you agree or disagree? What other factors can contribute to a good career?

It is widely accepted that university-level higher studies is an important factor to succeed in a career. This essay argues that this requirement depends in terms of the area of the career and will discuss other factors that can make significant upliftment to the career.

It is beyond doubt that, attending university education and graduation is a mandatory requirement in terms of careers such as Doctor, Lawyer and lecturer. Meanwhile, when it comes to skilled trades such as electrician, carpenter and motor technician, it is not compulsory to hold a university degree whereas hard learnt experience or vocational training can make them successful in their career.

Nowadays, almost every vacancy advertisement have indicated that having professional certifications completed in addition to the university degree is an added advantage to be selected as an appropriate candidate for the vacancy. For example, in many countries, candidates who have qualified CIMA or Charted Accountancy will preferably be selected for the position among degree holders. One other important factor to select the career according to personal preference. More specifically, if someone has chosen accountancy even though the personal preference is IT considering the salary is the only factor, He/She will feel frustration means job satisfaction is a major factor in terms of a good career.

In conclusion, it is accepted that university education is important for some areas of a career whereas it is not a mandatory requirement for some other area. Professional qualification is an important factor to be successful in a career other than a university degree. Job satisfaction is also another major factor that creates a career more successful.