The mark of a successful person is to be wealthy and have a successful career.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Contemporary society has become accustomed to measuring someone's success via concreate indicators such as salary or the position which a person has in a firm or government. Although this viewpoint is commonly accepted, this is arguably not always a reliable marker, stance which will be discussed in detail below.

Primarily, an affluent person with a flourishing career may not be seen by the public as a successful person in cases where that position and money have been gained illegally or inherited. For instance, the heir of a property mogul may have a sizable bank account as well as a good career thanks largely the work done by the parent, but is unlikely to be considered successful in his own right due to the fact that he did not accomplish anything.

In addition, there are people who are respected and venerated yet who do not have financial strength or a career of standing. For instance, a mother who may do a manual job for minimum wage but managed to provide her progeny with a stable home environment and ensured they receive a decent education can in many respects be considered to have been successful.

To sum up, although it is a common truth that success of a person might be estimated via the amount of money in a bank account or/and by career, there are also people who have money and a career who are not unsuccessful and vice versa. In other words, there seems to be no direct connection between wealth, career, and success.