Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s contemporary world, the wedding has become a multi-billion industry all around the world. The primary reason for such expensive weddings, in comparison to the past, is massive salary packages which are the result of globalization. I believe, it is definitely a positive trend on a personal perspective.

The prime reason for such costly weddings is highly paid jobs, which have increased drastically in the past few decades due to globalization. This is an explanation of why people nowadays, could afford luxurious lifestyles and celebrate all the festivities; especially, weddings with great zeal and enthusiasm. It is a trend now that the host of the wedding family hires a wedding planner, who charges a fortune for their services, to plan a theme wedding for them, by ensuring that it is much bigger and unique in style in comparison to their near and dear one's weddings. As it is a way for them to show-off their higher-status. In a recent survey conducted by Shadi.com concluded that in the 1980s a marriage coasted Rs500 per person, but now it has been escalated to Rs 2000 per person. Thus, a wedding these days is directly proportional to one's glamorous lifestyle and the money in the pocket.

Moreover, I believe that it is a positive change because a wedding is a once in a lifetime celebration and people feel that it should be celebrated grandly. Therefore, they do not want to leave any stone unturned to ensure that this day remains rememberable in their mind. Hence, when they look back on this day they should feel the same excitement as they did on their the-day. Hence, on a personal satisfaction note, I believe it is a positive development.

To conclude, although the wedding expenses have reached sky-high, I feel that in today’s world, the wedding is celebrated to form a connection between the wed-lock couple the celebrations, so that they can relate themselves with it.