Men sports get more attention than women sports. In your opinion, it is a positive or negative development. Please give your opinion.

Women have been subject to ignorance since immemorial times in this male-dominant society, which also implies that male sports get more attraction than women sports. In this regard, some people propound that it is justifiable

that men playing games invariably get more eyeballs, but there are many who convincingly refute it; hence with this dissenting opinion, we see emerging a new discourse. To be candid, I corroborate that in this world of inequality, women sports must also gain the equal interest of people, which is very essential for the development of our society.

Lack of attention in women sports poses devastating consequences on women, both mentally and socially, but what is most worrisome is that it is deteriorating women’s confidence. As a result, reduction in women motivation and self-esteem is inevitable. Self-confidence is indispensable in almost every aspect of life, on the contrary, girls emerge from adolescence with poor self-image and relatively low expectations from life. Hence, with low confidence women start doubting their abilities and are likely to have troubles excelling and achieving great things in life.

The unequal attention in sports may seem minimal to some, but is discrimination nonetheless. The media, for example, present sports as if there are masculine (e.g., football and ice hockey) and feminine (e.g., gymnastics and figure skating) sports, aligning with traditional expectations of male and female athletes, which makes it more difficult to break traditional gender barriers and allowing women to participate in masculine sports and men to participate in feminine sports. In fact, many female athletes are only accepted by society and receive coverage in the media if they participate in traditionally feminine sports. If a woman dares to participate in a masculine sport, their sexuality is immediately questioned

In conclusion, although few nominal forces have been grappling unsuccessfully with the issue of women-inequality, some substantial efforts are required to create enabling environment for women, which may seem onerous task but it is indispensable for the betterment of women and society as well. Otherwise, women-ignorance will be biggest blot on conscience of what we call civilised society.