Modern technology, such as personal computers and the internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home atleast part of the time instead of going to an office everyday. What are some advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

Technology is an inevitable part of our life and now -a-days, alot of employees have started working for their home and are able to maintain their productivity only due to cyber space. This new trend has plethora of pros and cons which should be discussed.

Admittedly, from the environmental point of view, pollution is decreasing as lesser number of people are travelling and emission of Chloro Fluoro carbons has been decreased. Further more, the trend of work from home will decrease the traffic jams and employees instead of spending vital hours on roads, can spend them facing computers and may complete there work within the time deadlines. For an instance, Cisco Inc. output was increased by 35% when provided the service of work from home. This increase in percentile clearly depicts the result of new trend and the major cause of adoption in the various organisations.

However, where there are roses, there must be some thrones. Internal issues between the project teams are increasing as everyone is working independently and they are unable to stride with each other. Tesla suffered huge losses in the market is the silent example of this. In order to overcome this situations, team building activities are arranged which are merely wastage of time and resources. Even the less, signs of procrastination are seen in the person working from home to the person in an office.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, it is clear that work from home is like a double-edge sword. From the scrutinisation of notions, advantages overcome the disadvantages and every company should allow their employees to work from their preferred location.