More and more children are addicted to electronic games. To what extent do you agree that parents should control children’s freedom so as not to let children get in touch with electronic games?

With the advent of electronic games, children spend so much time playing these games so much so that they are addicted to them. As a result, most people are calling on parents to prohibit their wards from playing these games. While this will have some positive impacts, it's negative effects will be more.

One positive side of not allowing children play electronic games is that they will have more time to spend on their academics and other important aspects of their development. Children spend a lot of time on computer and video games that they forget to do the home works or read their books. Some even shun going to school, because they want to play games the entire day. Stopping them from playing these games therefore, would allow them to devote more time on their studies and other important aspects of their life.

On the other hand, some children might revolt against their parents for denying them access to these games. Such young ones can even take to some social vices just to get at their parents. Also, experts have shown that electronic games help to develop children's analytical skills. Therefore, stopping them from getting in touch with these games implies that this aspect of their development will be impaired.

In conclusion, I disagree that parents should deny their children access to electronic games. Doing so will affect some aspect of their development as well as encourage some to take on some form of crime. What can be done however, is to ensure that they balance out their time over these games, their studies and some other aspects of their development.