More and more developing countries are expanding their tourist industries. Why is this? Is it a positive development?

Nowadays, tourism is a rapidly evolving sector of economy in third world countries. The reasons behind this development are the air travelling has become more affordable and travel trade brings a relatively large income compared to expenses. In my opinion, flourishing of tourism industry is a positive trend because of cultural interpenetration.

The main reason of flourishing of the tourist industry is that air tickets, especially with appearance of low-cost airlines is became cheaper and almost everyone can afford them. To illustrate, in the past it was not feasible to visit remote countries, as it would take too much time and effort, while in the modern era it is quite simple and achievable. In addition, economists consider the tourist industry is highly attractive as investments in the tourist sector of the economy are profitable. For non-industrial countries, increasing of travel trades is the way out from economical crises.

I consider the latest boom in the tourism sector as a positive change because travelling helps us to broaden our horizons interacting with other cultures and traditions. Visiting other countries gives an opportunity to look at the life from a different prospective and probably it will contribute in a better understanding between the nations. Meanwhile, the flow of a foreign capital increase prosperity of a local society and improves a global economy as well. For example, trying to attract tourists local authorities invest funds into the improvement of the infrastructure, such as a better road network, hotels, restaurants, etc. Thus, number of working places is increasing and living standards are rising.

In conclusion, having considered the latest growth of tourist industry I believe that it is a positive shift due to the fact that it is beneficial for the local economy as well as global one.