More and more media attention is being paid to famous people who are successful in sports and movies. Why do you think this is happening? Is this a good thing?

It would not be unfair to say that today's world is saturated with celebrity related news and gossip. We have access to the very latest news about celebrities via different mediums. This essay shall delve with into the causes of this phenomenon. It is definitely not a good thing.

The mail reason for this is that people idolize celebs and want to know more about them. Celebs are the role models for many. People want to be like them and that is why they want to know everything about them. The media is only responding to people's desire. To survive in today's world, the media, whether it is e-media or print media, has to focus on these big shots. Another reason is that the celebs themselves need the media coverage to survive in today's cut-throat competition. That is why the extent and quality of celebrity news in the media is multiplying.

However, too much focus on the lives of celebrities is certainly harmful for the people as well as the celebs themselves. Too much focus on celebrities is diverting people's attention from more important issues such as politics and the environment. For example, the public knows about Salman khan and his broken relationships than about many political issues. Another important point is that sometimes these celebs are negative role models for people. For instance, if a celebrity drinks or smokes then young people may copy him thinking that it is glamorous to drink and smoke.

Too much celebrity gossip can be detrimental for the celebs themselves. Celebrities' lives do not have any privacy and they can not enjoy simple things of life which a normal man can does. Sometimes it leads to commit suiside or increase the level of stress in their lives and consequently, their careers also suffer.

To conclude, the media does too much focus on the lives of famous people because of several reasons. However, media has got a great power to spread awareness and it should use its power for the right cause. The should know where to draw the line.