More and more newspapers and news channels are using photographs to support their news articles and stories. Some people think that photographs are not reliable source of news while others consider photographs to be irrefutable.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent times, there are numerous media outlets that are using photographs to spread the news across the country. While few consider this to be inappropriate as it is not the authentic way to convey the news, there are others like me who feel images are the best way to capture the viewers or readers attention.

To embark on, more often that not majority of the media channels - both print and telecast media, use images to deliver political news. This contains old pictures or visuals of politicians, which do not translate the current trends of the same individual. For example, when one of the former Prime Minister of India was unwell, the media depicted an image of his younger days while trying to pass on the message. As a consequence, it misleads the end user at first glance from the factual news. Furthermore, in magazines related to tourism industry, the visuals of tourist places are projected more beautiful that they actually appear. This deceives a travel enthusiast when he/she tours the place believing it to be real as it was depicted in the media booklets.

However, there are few sections of a newspaper that requires quality images such as 'sports' section. This is because the sports celebrities are often considered as role models in life by many youngsters and writing a news article with the person's image will definitely attract more readers as well. Moreover, the advertising segment is another pivotal part which needs beautiful pictorial representations as the beauty of the product needs to be showcased to the audience. For instance, an image of a popular female celebrity endorsing diamond necklace will attract more female viewership to the jewelry brand that is being advertised. As a result, more interest will be generated in the newspaper or a media channel as well.

In conclusion, from my perspective, although there are downsides such as false propaganda to the actual news through images, the higher interest in other sections like sports and advertising which demand images for telling an interesting news outweigh the demerits.