Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines.

Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, the housework which used to be done manually are being done through machines. This essay will explain why I believe the merits of working with machines outweigh its drawbacks when compared to manual process of work.

Considering firstly the benefits of using machines at home are that they are often more time saving and very effective in its use. With regards to the former, machines are typically time-savers as they are automated, which is especially useful for families with children as they get time to bond with them. As for the latter, at least in case of washing machines, vacuum cleaners, and dish washers, they usually do a high quality job at a faster rate. Conversely, not only manual works are generally time consuming, but they are also less-effective in terms of quality and speed.

However, the main drawback of using machines are that they reduce the physical activity a human body is involved while doing household works. The vast majority of individuals are regularly involved in some kind of exercise because of the manual work they need to do at home. As a result of lack of this, the number of people suffering from joint pains and obesity disorder are substantially higher. Contrast this with the previous generation individuals who frequently involved themselves in manual process of washing clothes, utensils, and cleaning/mopping the house were fitter and healthier.

In conclusion, I think that the advantages of saving time and effective use in utilizing machines in day-to-day activities outweigh the disadvantages of lack of physical activity in comparison to manual chores.