More and more people are using the internet to do their tasks rather than doing in person. (e.g. banking, shopping, hotel booking etc. ). Do

the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The Internet has become an indispensable part of human life, and it is difficult to think of a world without the internet. It enables us to do things that only a few years ago would have been unthinkable and reaches every facet of our lives. As a result, daily tasks and business transactions can be performed without meeting people, in person. This practice certainly has more positive effects on the individual and society as a whole.

It is indubitable that with the advent of technology, modern devices and tools for communications such as telephone, fax machines, computers and many others have bought tremendous convenience and efficiency to both life and work. The boom and acceptance of people on e-commerce which includes e-banking and e-shopping have made life easier and convenient than ever before. Now people can stay home comfortably, looking on the internet where a vast ocean of information is available to find what they need, and even compare the prices at various websites and purchase via online banking which suits them. All this can be done without much effort like reading reference, newspapers and so on. As a result, they have more time to socialize with the family, pursue hobbies and interests, which are all imperative parts of quality life.

The trend of doing business by telecommunication equally benefits the whole society because business can be done more efficiently and effectively at a much lower cost. An extra benefit is that more natural resources can be saved. To exemplify, during the corona pandemic most of the companies have given work from home option to the employee, according to the research most companies are planning to extend in future as they are cost-cutting a lot in energy source as they no longer need buildings to run business. Additionally, environment survey states that pollution reduced drastically by 75 per cent due to less number of vehicles on the road.

Furthermore, small businesses have almost the same opportunities to advertise and promote their products and services online to compete with the larger ones without much effort and resource, which makes the whole world fairer.

On the downside, there is an increasing concern about the loss of direct human contact as a result of which there is an impoverishment of people’s emotional lives, as well as the loss of social cohesion. Moreover, the privacy of individuals can suffer. So, proper steps have to be taken to protect the public against cybercrime and cyber-terrorism.

To sum up, performing everyday tasks and business transactions utilizing telecommunications benefits the individual and the society enormously. There is simply no going back.