People have to spend more and more time to travel from their homes for jobs and study. what are the reasons? How can we solve this problem?

It is indubitable that commuting time for study and work has increased over the past few decades. This essay intends to summarize some of the reason behind this situation and tries to alleviate the problem.

The most obvious reason for this is the traffic congestion, as the number of cars on the roads rises unprecedented over the past decade. It seems that everyone relies on their privacy and comfort, as a result, traffic moves in a snail’s pace. What used to take 10 minutes earlier, takes about 30 minutes now. The second reason is the Suburbanization of the cities. People are now moving to suburbs for quieter, cheap and open houses, as a consequence travel time to office and study skyrocketed.

The solution is not easy, a joint effort with the government should be taken to reduce the gravity of the issue. At the government level, steps could be taken to promote the use of public transport. This could be done by increasing the comfort, frequency and rate cutters with subscription packages. People should be motivated to use car-pooling, even they should be given dedicated tracks. This makes the traffic move quickly. For examples, countries like the USA, India is now emerging with a new idea of promoting “High Occupancy Vehicle” tracks where the rapid movement of vehicles is possible. As survey results on these countries show a boom in depending on public transport.

Furthermore, Individuals have to adopt this as a responsibility. They should voluntarily use public transport even when they are bound by the time of trains and buses. Car-pooling should be done by conscious effort. For example, my friend Abhimanyu who resides in Delhi have to travel 75 km to reach his office in Gurgaon. He approached his neighbourhood to use carpooling to reach the same destination. Not only they save time by reducing the number of vehicles in road and congestion but also had some savings too.

To sum up, it is undeniable that commuting time has increased, but some steps can be followed to ameliorate the situation.