Most people consider money to be important for achieving happiness

How important is money for happiness?

Many people believe that money is essential to happiness. I am of the opinion that money brings temporary happiness which later on turned into sadness.

Firstly, the happiness people relate to money is not long lasting. Buying material things are mostly considered as an achievement which will make people joyful. But in reality, it only lasts a few days and after that, any material thing becomes insignificant. For instance, people who buy Ferrari would feel like the happiest person on the earth and after some months that happiness is on its lowest level and Ferrari becomes a normal vehicle for him to go from place A to place B.

Secondly, instead of happiness, money brings sadness. Most people spend their whole life earning money to fulfill their dreams such as buying their own house or a fancy automobile. While running after the money they forget to enjoy their life and live in the moment. Then on getting their dream, they realize that this was not the happiness and satisfaction they were looking for and regret on wasting all this time for a material thing. This will make them sad as this time cannot be reversed.

Lastly, in reality, happiness comes from immaterial things. Happiness is when children make their parents proud in front of everyone. Happiness is helping a homeless man with food and a warm place. These are few examples of a joyful time which not only lasts forever but it also brings satisfaction which one cannot experience with spending money.

In conclusion, While money is necessary to live but it cannot be a source of happiness as it is hidden in immaterial things which we do for others and not in buying expensive material possessions.