Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too clostly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures.

To what extent do you agree?

Cost of research and treatment for diseases are higher than to put certain measures for its prevention. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement as putting system to prevent diseases would not be enough to mitigate them entirely and in most developing countries the prevention costs are higher than the cost on research and treatment procedures.

A good reason to use our resources into research and treatment is because most measures to avoid diseases are not enough. As there is always a human error present in all the procedures. In other words, the scale of prevention measures is limitless as a small mistake can become a source for any fatal disease. For instance, neglecting proper disposal of tires may provide environment for dengue mosquitoes to lay eggs and multiply.

Another reason to go ahead with research and treatment is that in almost all developing countries, the cost of putting systems for disease prevention crosses the cost of research and treatment. It is because huge portion of population is living under the poverty line and this makes them more disposed to diseases as they don’t have enough financial aid to put precautions to avoid diseases. And if the state starts investing to put measures in such areas then it will require a huge chunk of budget or they can invest lesser than that to research and treatment of such diseases.

In conclusion, the expenses occurred on research and treatment for diseases is not only beneficial for being prepared for them but it also helps in supporting the places where implication of prevention measures is hard.