Some people say it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that appearance can explain a lot about the nature and history of that person. Although outfits can show a lot about a person, I am of the opinion that looks never identifies the personality.

There are a number of supporting points associated with the idea that a person's outlook can reflect their personality and nature. First of all, there is a different style of clothing which belongs to specific cultures. Culture-based outfits are easily recognized by others as their culture is famous for it. For instance, people who wear big hats with long shoes mostly belong to cowboy culture in areas like Texas, so their appearance represent their culture. Secondly, some people wear their profession influenced clothes which shows their nature as well. It is often seen that people with flashy outfits are mostly in showbiz profession and then people wearing over formal clothes are mostly army personals.

However, taking the choice of dress as the only measurement of someone's character would be unreasonable. Firstly, sometimes clothes are dependent on certain situations. People who are working in a corporate environment mostly carries formal looks which are required by their profession regardless of their personal liking or character reflection. In addition, there are certain occasions which require a specific dress code. For example, people on funerals wear black dresses, it does not represent any culture or preferences of anyone but it only shows that a person is following common rules for a certain occasion. Thus, it is extremely unreasonable to judge someone's culture or character on their appearance as there are a lot of other criteria to be considered as well.

In conclusion, while there are some grounds on which culture and character can be assessed by someone's outfit that is when someone is wearing a very special culture related outfit or they wear their clothes according to their professions. I believe the appearance will give an incomplete judgment on someone's culture or character as they might be wearing it for a particular event or it is required by their work.