Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both points and give your opinion?

It has been argued that parents should make children focus on team-oriented sports in their leisure time. However, others believe that spending time alone would teach them some vital skills. Although I am of the opinion that children being all by themselves is more valuable.

There are a number of reasons associated with leisure activities consisting of many participants. First of all, it teaches patience to children. Different players are of different opinions and it might conflict with the personal viewpoint of a child. This would teach children to absorb anger and show patience for contradictions. Secondly, group interaction improves the communication skills of a child. Team activities include a lot of interaction among players and by that children learn to not only understand others properly but to convey their ideas in a clear manner.

However, children involved in activities with no one but themselves have significant positive aspects. The most key benefit of it is building a strong personality. Playing alone leads to self-confidence that anything is possible without being dependant on anyone. It is often reported that introvert children have stronger personalities than children who are extrovert. In addition, being alone brings out creativity. Children in group activities are more likely to receive negative comments and face conflicts with others. This discourages children to think out of box and limits creativity but being the only one in activity will avoid these issues and leads to a creative approach.

In conclusion, While team focused sports would lead to skills such as patience and better communications, I believe that involvement in sole player activities brings far more benefits which include strong personality and creative thinking.