Most people prefer to eat ready meals rather than home made food these days.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The number of people eating fast food has been increasing since the last decade. The health problems associated with its consumption and increased financial spending outweigh the nominal benefits provided by it.

The only benefit of ready to eat food is that it is convenient. These days in many families both the husband and the wife work and they do not have time to cook proper meals. Consequently, they opt for fast food which they can buy from a store and eat without having to spend hours for cooking. Also, fast food may taste better because of artificial flavours and additives added to them. This is what attracts children to packaged foods.

On the flip side, in spite of the minor advantages mentioned above, there are potentially dangerous drawbacks associated with fast food. One of the major issues is obesity. This is because sandwiches, burgers or pizzas contain very high amount of calories. This exceeds the daily dietary requirement of most people, and as a result they suffer from obesity and related diseases. In addition, convenience foods rarely provide adequate nutrition. Consequently, children who consume them regularly fail to develop normally. Another issue associated with the consumption of fast food is that they are expensive. They can hurt the budget of middle and low income families.

In conclusion, the trend of people eating ready to eat food is associated with more drawbacks than benefits. It is hoped that people will realise the goodness of home-made meals and go back to them.