As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What are the factors that contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Most employees spend more time of their life at work than that at home; hence, the satisfaction of their job is an important factor of their motivation. This essay will first discuss that the increasing of their salary is one of their job satisfaction’s factors and argues that this expectation is unrealistic.

The main factor, which makes employees satisfy with their job, is the increasing in their salary. This increasing means that companies appreciate what employees have done to contribute to the company’s development. Moreover, every person work to earn money to support their families and pay for their needs and a higher salary can offer them a better living standard. For example, a survey conducted in Dufferin Construction Ltd. in Toronto in 2018 showed that 60% of their employees said that the main factor, which kept them staying in the company and working hard everyday, was that their increased income every year.

However, this satisfaction is unrealistic for every individual in companies. That is to say that employees cannot expect to be paid a higher salary without having higher education and more experience. There is a standard of annual income for certain level of education and experience and all companies are not willing to pay more than that standard. For instance, according to 2018 income’s data of AutoCad Drafter in Toronto, a new graduated student, who had 2 years degree and did not have any experience, would earn a maximum amount of 35,000$ annually, while another new graduated student, who also had no experience but had a bachelor degree, could earn up to 45,000$ per year.

In conclusion, the factor that contribute to employee’s satisfaction at work is the salary’s increasing; however, this expectation is unrealistic without getting higher education and more experience.