Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment.

Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

While some men and women choose to live in a house, others prefer to stay in an apartment. Even though living in a house is less safe than staying in an apartment, the benefit of having privacy far outweighs the drawback.

The main disadvantage is that houses are unsafe. That is to say, while most of apartments have security and cameras to keep everybody safe, houses do not provide any protection’s services. Some houses are also not maintained well; therefore, their fire alarms and smoke alarms do not work in some cases. For example, last year in Toronto, there was a fire from a single house killed 4 international students who rented the rooms there. The main reason was that fire alarm was too old to active and the owner did not fix the alarm properly. However, this drawback can be prevented by installing more cameras around houses and improving the maintenance of houses

On the other hand, the main advantage is that living in a house is more private than living in an apartment. Apartments always have their own rules and their residents have to follow the rules whether they want or not. In contract, houses, which belong to a landlord, do not have any restricted rules and anyone living there can do what ever they like. For instance, a survey conducted in 2018 showed that more than 90% of the condos in Toronto area do not allow their residents do BBQs or invite their friends to stay with them from 1:00 AM to 7:00 AM. This privacy problem is very important in choosing a place to live and eclipses any fears about unsafe properties.

In conclusion, the freedom of living in a house far outweighs the supposed disadvantage of an unsafe house.