Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some would argue that young people should be taught to compete, others say that they will grow up to be a better person when they are encouraged to learn to co-operate. Although working in a team is better for their future career, I believe that they should always be ready to compete to be the winner.

On one hand, co-operation is the most important skill that is required by any company at any position. This means being able to work together with the others but the unique character of each person still need to be kept. Therefore, teaching children how to work in a team with other people effectively is preparing them a key to success in their future. For example, the invention of Iphone is contributed not only by Steve Jobs but also by his brilliant team. Steve Jobs himself could not be able to be realistic his idea of a smart phone. However, I believe that this skill can be trained at any time and children do not need to be taught to work with the others effectively.

On the other hand, children who are encouraged to fight to be a winner always try their best to improve themselves in order to win any competition. It is shown that a person who is finding the way to be a better version of himself or herself becomes more successful than a person who accepts his or her ability. For instance, Nike and Adidas always compete to gain their customers; hence, their products have been improving year by year. Without one of them, sneakers will never reach to today’s level of designs and qualities. Therefore, I believe that this skill is the most important one that children need to learn.

In conclusion, while co-operation is a key skill to success in children’s future career, I believe that competition is needed because it teaches kids to always do their best and pushes youngsters to reach out their next level.