Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

More and more fruit and vegetables are imported from some countries to nations where they are not available by air. This essay will first suggest that fresh fruit for whole year is the primary benefit of this while price increasing is the main drawback.

The main reason those products are imported to countries where they are impossible to grow is because consumers can have a chance to eat fresh products every time. Fruit and vegetables cannot be stored for a long time unless they are frozen. Air transport, which is the fastest way to import them, is the only way to keep them fresh during the travelling time between two countries. For example, North America’s temperature is usually below 0 degree Celsius for almost 8 months every year, hence 80% of fresh fruit and vegetable here are imported from South America where they can be grown easier.

Despite this benefit, the high cost of those products is the disadvantage of air transport. This increasing comes from the air’s expense and the tax between countries. Because fruit and vegetables are not the last-long products, people cannot reduce the price of transportation by using the cheaper one such as ship transport or train transport. For instance, Vietnamese’s durian, which is sold in Chinese supermarket in Canada, always has 10 times higher price than that in Vietnam due to the transportation’s fee.

In conclusion, air transport may bring the fresh products to consumers in nations where they are impossible to grow, but the high cost of those can be a main reason to prevent people buying them.