Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

It is common to see the popularity of cinema and video games that contain violent contents. While some think that they ought to be banned due to the negative impact on society, others assert that they are merely leisure activities. This essay with discuss both perspectives. I, however, side with the later view.

On the one hand, many reasons are given by people who feel that violent multi-media and games should be censored. Firstly, people who watch excess distress movies or virtually killing others players become pessimistic. Because of the high volume of negative materials, people develop a negative attitude towards life. They start to feel that the entire world is similar to the one projected in the movies. Thus, some even develop feeling of apathy. Secondly, exposure to violence is detrimental to children. Since children are easily influenced by what they see, they try to enact in real life. A personal example of my nephew. After seeing the WWF games, he tried to use some of the fighting moves on his younger brother and got himself injured severly. Constantly watching crime movies or fighting in computer games, children might start developing aggressive behaviour towards other people.

On the other hand, some say that movies and computer games are not harmful pastime. Few people would contest that crime and violence in socities existed even before the invention of movies and digital games. So, it is wrong to put the entire blame on them. There are other factors responsible causing destruction in society. Such as imbibing alcohol, substance abuse, and firearms possession. These as more pressing factors deleterious to communities. Although violent movies and games may influence some change in behaviour, it can be easily controlled by limited screen time. Parents should keep a tab on their children and properly guide them to follow a proper demeanor. Also, some amount of exposure to violence is essential to sensitize person to the actual events that may or may not be occuring around the world as depicted in movies.

To conclude, despite the fact that violence in movies and computer games might cast a dark effect on people, it can be curbed by reducing the time spend on viewing them. In my opinion, people should at least view some criminal contents to have a fair knowledge of the crime.