Music should not be taught in schools. Instead other subjects like computer and science should be taught. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although, music is loved by everyone around the world but it is a commonly believed by many that it should not be part of school curriculum instead music should be replaced by subjects like computer and science. I completely disagree with this thought and this essay provides the supportive statement to prove my disagreement.

To begin with, the prime reason why I believe that music should be tought in school is that it is a not an easy subject that could be learned by ourself instead it is very complex subject. like many other academic subject, music also have various levels such as beginners, intermediate and advanced. So, like any other subject, coaching of this subject is equally required. Gone are the days when music was just a pass-time activity or hobby. Moreover, these days, the competition in the music industry has raised so much that proper teaching of this course is essential.

Another major reason which supports the music education essential is that IT offers great career opportunity. Now a days, we have equal job opportunities in music as like other subjects. In the entertainment industries we have music composers, directors and singers so there are vast scope of work options after studying music. Not only this, learning music could provide a chance to be self-employed in the form of stage performer or an artist rather than a regular office worker. Since music offers the same or even better job scope like maths and science then why it should not be taught in schools or given less preference than other subjects. In a survey conducted by Harvard University, it was found that 85% of students who studied music in 2016 are well established and earn handsome income today.

To conclude, Music should be taught in school or not but looking at the above mentioned facts, it should be clear that music holds the equal value as other educational subjects. Learning music in school is essential as music could offer you work in various fields and it is a complex subject whose teaching is necessary it is no more a pass-time activity or a hobby, but it has become a passion and an important subject to study.