News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

In this modern world, news plays a vital role in the society. Therefore, the news editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. While some people argue that news editors have to focus more on good news compared with the bad news like crime related and violant news. In this essay, I shall discuss on the factors that could be analyzed by the news editors to make the news telecasting time more interesting to the general public.

First and foremost, ediors have to consider on myriad of factors such as National importance of the news, relevance to the current situation, interests of the people, popularity of the topic etc. For instance, in Sri Lanka after the Easter attack occurred in 21st of April 2019, most of the people were interested on news regarding national security and process of building co-existance among nationalities. Therefore, nowadays most of the media channels have allocated about 50% of their air time on news related national security related issues.

On the other hand, when we consider about the news papers majority of them consist with bad news such as crime related violant news. At the same time, some of them telecast photoes of accidents, breaching the ethics prevailing in media field. For example, in some cases some media tends to report unreliable news to increase the sale of their news. Therefore, governments or the relevant authorities do have the responsibility in avoiding these incidents to ensure the reliability on media.

In conclusion, it is recommended to telecast or print more good news to people such as national policies of the government and they can even give information on the development projects of the government as well. Apart from them, televisions can telecast documentary programmes on nature to enhance the knowledge of children on the environment around them. Besides that, people will prefer to get news on sporting events, book launches together with new movie releases as well. In the mean time, the journalists and the news editors have to be trained on the ethics and other importaant aspects affecting on news reporting to improve the quality of their product “The news”.