News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Today’s modern world is incomplete without news as it constitutes an essential part of most individual’s lives. This essay will discuss the significance of news to the society. This essay will also discuss the reasons for getting more coverage to bad news nowadays. In my opinion, there must be equal focus on both good and bad news.

News helps people to stay informative all the time. It makes people aware of the happenings and events that occur around them. People are well-informed of latest developments and discoveries happening across the globe. It plays a crucial role in moulding up the opinion of a person which in turns determines what he does for the society. For instance, in recent times, more and more young people are inspired to know about the development and achievements of ruling government which will help them to choose and vote wisely to elect the government in the next election. In other words, news educates people in good citizenship by updating them with all the latest growths and events around them.

Nowadays most of the news channels give more coverage to bad news as it increases their TRP (Television Rating Points).In the world of competition every news channels want to have more viewers so they give more coverage to bad news as it shocks the people and grabs their attention. For instance, recently in India when ISRO launched 120 satellites at once it didn’t get much coverage as on other side media were busy showing news of mob lynching issue happened in Uttar Pradesh which may not be even true. In short, competition in media world and people’s curiosity to watch shocking or breaking news contributes to get more coverage to bad news.

However, I believe that media channels must give equal coverage to both good and bad news. On one hand good news inspires people to work for betterment of the society. On other hand bad news also play important role as it makes people aware of crimes and other negative things happening around them so they may take some preventive measures to avoid these things coming to them. For instance, news of robbery and stealing makes people aware to take care of their belongings properly while walking on the roads. To sum-up, both good and bad news must get equal coverage so that people are aware of both good and bad things happening around them.

In conclusion, I believe the news play significant role in our life because it keeps people updated with all latest events and developments around them. In my opinion, both good and bad news must be equally focused as they play an important role in guiding and shaping public perspective and their opinion.