Now-a-days, when people get old they often sent to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. While such homes generate funds for expenses from family and sponsors, there is a section of society which feel that the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should be wholly responsible to pay for this care?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many nations, these days, people send their elders in the family to live in old age homes, to live with other older people. They feel that the necessary care is provided at these homes which are organised by trained care takers and specialized nurses. Though sponsors and family members extend financial support, for the functioning of such homes, a certain class of people assert that it is the government responsibility to fund for the care. I, however, believe that it is family and the citizens should be bearing this social responsibility rather than burdening the Government.

The elders are often made to live at centers for old and old age home after a certain age when they need constant monitoring. Hence, families in which both men and women work, feel safe to keep them under expert care. This does not imply that the elders are abandoned. Families need to visit their parents at old age homes too often and be inquiring about their welfare at such places. Such visits serve as emotional boosters for the elders living away from kith and kin. Families should be sponsoring for all their expenses as a token of gratitude and love towards them.

Government, on the other hand, should foster these homes by allocating land for the establishment and provide medical benefits, rather than sponsoring their living. Most of the nations have such policies already implemented for the welfare of the old populace. Allocating furthermore budget for food and clothing would definitely be a stress on the government and leaving no adequate financial resources for other prevailing problems such as unemployment, educational and environmental issues. Therefore, governments and authorities have made sufficient focus on the senior citizens and would be illogical to push the onus on the government.

In conclusion, <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">families and sponsors </span>should be<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> voluntarily responsible to pay for the care of their elder people</span> instead of shifting the duty on the Government