Some people use technology to take advice for their medical problems rather than seeing to doctor. Why this is so. It is positive or negative development according to you.

Technology has become ubiquitous in every field and everyone’s walk of life and medical field is no exception. Some feel that relying on technology is a better first aid instead of consulting a doctor owing to the fact that treatment would be expensive, if a doctor is involved and also most of the diseases can be cured with basic medication. In my opinion, this seems to be a detrimental tend because the serious problems could be ignored and overlooked with self-medication.

The primary reason that people take tablets or tonics without an expert's advice when they fall sick is due to the speculation of costs involved in the treatment. A doctor usually advises a set of lab tests to diagnose the issue thoroughly before he starts the treatment. Common individuals will definitely get frightened with the prices of this sort of treatment which they feel that they cannot afford. Hence they search over the internet for the symptoms and respective medicines and avoid seeing a doctor.

Another reason is most of the illness is not severe. Cough, cold or fatigue can be treated with few popular medicines such as Crocin, Paracetomal and antibiotics available in the market and these are being promoted by television commercials and popups over internet. A doctor visit is considered only if the patient condition has not improved. This practice of self-medication has been since timely immemorial.

Though self-medication with the help of technology can cure temporary illness, underlying causes may be left unnoticed and lead to serious health consequences in future. At that critical phase, treatment becomes extremely expensive and also could result in life loss. So it is always a better option to have an expert consultation rather than helping ourselves using technology.