Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because we see the same TV shows, advertisements, fashion and follow the same brands. To what extent the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

We are now living in a global village where geographical barriers have become insignificant. People wear the same kind of clothes all over the world, eat the same foods and watch the same films. In my opinion, this trend has made life easier for us all.

There are several benefits to following global fashion trends. It makes traveling easier. For example, now, Indians and Americans or Europeans have more or less the same tastes in fashion, food, and music. As a result, young Indian professionals can travel to the US or Europe and still feel at home there. The biggest advantage of following a global lifestyle is that it eliminates culture shock when you travel to other countries. It also protects you from discrimination. When you wear the same kind of clothes or eat the same kind of food as everyone else, you will not stand out. This will actually protect you from various forms of discrimination that you might experience when you are in a foreign country. An Indian woman living in the US will be at a disadvantage if she insists on wearing only traditional Indian clothes and eating only vegetarian foods. This will limit her choices, but if she is willing to follow the culture of the country she lives in, life will be easier for her.

The only disadvantage of this trend is the loss of ethnicity. Every nation has its traditional styles of fashion and clothing. When everyone wears the same kind of clothes, this cultural legacy gets lost.

To conclude, the benefits of following global trends in lifestyle and fashion are many. It makes life easier for globetrotting youngsters. There are, nonetheless, a few disadvantages, but there is an easy way to get around them. People who are proud of their ethnic fashion and lifestyle can follow it when they are in their own country.