Some believe that it is beneficial to show foreign films while others feel this can have a negative impact on local culture.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this era of globalization, it is incredibly common for people to watch international movies. While some worry about the concomitant tradeoffs of watching foreign cinema can bring to the nation’s society, others believe it is advantageous in many ways. This essay will discuss both perspectives. I, however, side with the latter view because people get to experience something unique without leaving their own country.

On the one hand, critics cite that there are many negative ramifications engendered by showing foreign movies. Firstly, the populace of a nation, especially younger generations, will be influenced by the western culture, resulting in eschewing traditional culture to follow western culture. For instance, people may prefer to wear fashionable clothes as projected in the movies to emulate the personalities of the characters. Furthermore, this may lead to an injurious impact on the local clothing industry since the demand of their products will reduce due to an increase in the demand of western clothes. Besides this, this deleteriousness can spread to other areas, such as food. The more the influence of foreign films, the greater the negative effect on the society.

On the other hand, the supports of foreign films feel that it is beneficial in many ways. Firstly, viewing films from another countries can bring gratification as well as a great stress-buster. Local people after hard day at work will be able to experience something special and diverse from their local films. This may result in people gaining knowledge of outside world and this, becoming wordly wise. For instance, an American watching a Korean film will get a glimpse of Korea’s culture and people’s lifestyle. Secondly, it is a great way to learn or improve foreign language skills. For example, students who are learning English can achieve significant linguistical improvements by watching English movies since they will be exposed to the correct pronunciation of the words and sentences.

From my perspective, the local citizenry gets an opportunity to understand the foreign culture and visit places virtually by merely watching foreign media. This second-hand experience is beneficial for people who cannot afford to go on holidays abroad.

In conclusion, although showing foreign pieces of entertainment may create some minus concerns, overall, they are marginal in comparison to the pluses. In my opinion, without spending a massive amount of money on trips if people get to experience various countries atmosphere, it is definitely worth voting for.