Some people think that punishment is essential in a child’s education, while others think rewards would be better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is commonly believed by many that punishing children is important to ensure their proper upbringing, whereas some feel that rewarding is more effective. There are stong arguments on both sides, which will be discussed now. In my opinion, there should be usage of both approaches, giving first priority to rewarding and then punishing.

On the one hand, the supports of giving punishment to children point out that the efficacy of ensuring that they are not repeating the same mistake. Historically, corporal punishments have been proven to be effective in forming proper demeanor among children who are usually mischiveous. For instance, this is a common practice in India, where parents beat their child in order to reform them. It works to control outward behavior of Indian children. They further argue that when children are slapped or canned, it instill a fear among them and deter them to being insolent and insubordinate. Thus, this approach appear to compel children to change their attitude.

On the other hand, the opponents of physical punishment cite that children should be encouraged and motivate by offering rewards. Rewarding does not only means giving gifts, but also include verbal praises. This is correct and humanitarian way to ensure children are raised up with proper care and love, which definitely make them listen to their parents and elders. Moreover, seriously punishing children may stifle their growth because it can cause psychological issues and mental trauma, which can have last effect even when they grow up. Therefore, corporal punishments is banned in most countries, particularly in western nations. It seems that this approach is rather self-motivating than compulsive as children will whole-heartedly want to achieve success and proper conduct of behavior.

To conclude, there are valid arguments on both viewpoints. In my opinion, parents should incorporate both methods. This can be done by first encouraging children to change by rewarding. If they show no improvement or revolt, parents can resort to punishing them provided that punishment are not severe; thus, there is no significant harm done to their mental or physical health.