Nowadays in many countries woman have full time jobs. therefore, it is logical to share household task evenly between man and woman. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

In the last few decades, with the increase in cost of living, it has become unmanageable for the male member of the family to make the ends meet single-handedly. Therefore, to cope up with this situation, women in most of the countries have stepped in to contribute towards the household expenses, by taking full time jobs. As women, cannot administer both office and home work alone, I completely believe that the domestic work should be equally distributed among both the sexes. In my below essay, I will elucidate my view with examples.

Although, it is assumed that the woman of the family has a superior command over the household chores, there are certain works which require more manual intervention. If these home-tasks are assigned to men, it leaves the female of the family with more time to unwind herself after the long working hours. For example, activities such as laundry and vacuuming, can be easily taken up by the men as it requires more physical strength and women can take up cooking and dish-cleaning activities. If these errands are evenly distributed, it would lead to a less stressful atmosphere at home.

Furthermore, due to even distribution of work, both the parents can devote ample time in the upbringing of their children. As parents’ involvement plays a vital role in a child’s growth, it is crucial that both the members spend adequate time with them. To illustrate, on the one hand, mothers can concentrate more on the academic growth of their children, whereas fathers can focus on more of their physical activities. If an equilibrium is established and both office and domestic work is bifurcated among both the parents, the child gets enough time to spend with both the parents and eventually grow up into a successful human being.

In conclusion, I completely accord with the thought that men and women should share domestic work equally, as it gives more time to the women to relax and both the parents can focus equally on their children.