Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults.Why is this?

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the recent years, shopping has become one of the favorite past time activity. Today, youngsters perceive it as a hobby, rather than necessity. I believe that this is completely a negative development, and in this essay I will support my views with examples.

One problem associated with youth who pursue shopping as a leisure activity is that it wastes a lot of money. These youngsters, especially college goers, are completely dependent on the limited pocket money, which they receive from their parents. Consequently, teenagers, who tend to shop in their free time are left insolvent at the end, and eventually, they end up borrowing money from their friends. For example, students residing in hostels or as paying guests, loan money from their room-mates, on failing to repay this, they get involved in altercations or fights. If these juveniles continue to spend extravagantly on shopping, they may turn out to be insolvent and may be buried under huge debts.

Another drawback, which proves that it is a negative development is that these students are unable to apply themselves to studies. Most of them, misspend their study-time, either browsing through the internet or roaming in the shopping centers, eventually, they hardly get any time to study. To illustrate, in a survey conducted in “The Youth Today”, it was reported that around 48% of youngsters scored poor grades in examinations owing to this leisure interest. If these children continue to spend most of their time in shopping, they won’t be able to achieve their goals. These adolescents should priorities their activities and work on it generously.

In conclusion, I concur that considering shopping as a hobby is purely a detrimental development, as it involves a huge cost, which is unaffordable by teens and it wastes a lot of their time, resulting in poor grades and anti-social behavior.