Nowadays many people have to work longer time and they feel more stressful than before.

What are the reasons?

What can employers do to make their life easier?

Nowadays competitiveness is a very common word use by companies to attract new talent to their payrolls. They encouraged their employees to be better pushing them to the edge with challenging projects or with longer hours at the office. Many professionals have dreamt of getting a good job with big benefits and an important amount of free time to rest. Nevertheless, these things aren't usually coming alone, working more than the arranged time is very common these days.

While people are more often working overtime, companies are getting more demanding with them. One of the most common causes of stress is working more time than your contract has stipulated. People are not resting enough time, and in some cases, this gets worse because of the long distances they have to travel to get to work. in a city like Santiago where public transport is quite good, many factories and industrial sites are in the skirts of the metropolitan region. Although the factories pay good money, traveling is not amusing to many people.

As far as I'm concerned, employers could take several measures to make their employees live better, such as adopting remote work modality in positions in which the person is not required to be in the facility, moreover, companies must encourage their people to get their free time once or twice a year and not let them passing a year without any time off.

To summarize, I think that work should be a means to an end, not the other way around. Moreover, having a job should not be a cause of stress and other issues related to physical and mental health.