Nowadays more and more children acquire unhealthy eating habits Why is it happening What can be done to solve this issue

These day people are more concerned about health than they were in the past, especially when it comes to children. Studies have actually shown that kids have been acquiring unhealthy eating habits, a treacherous trend that can have lead to serious diseases. Decisive steps are also necessary to tackle this problem and protect the health of our children. But what are the reasons behind this phenomenon? This essay will try to examine the possible causes, frequently hidden in our fast-paced society.

Family just as society, has undergone deep changes over the last years which have witnessed formidable improvements in politics, economy, and technology as well. In the majority of the families nowadays both parents are working, so that no much time is left to take care of the children. As a result, the busy lifestyle does not frequently allow parents to cook fresh meals. And when the time is scarce many tend to turn to frozen products which offer a quick and practical alternative to a traditional meal. But the side effects of this kind of diet are quite detrimental: these foods are usually rich of added sugars, fat, and other chemical additives that are responsible for cholesterol, high blood pressure, cardiovascular diseases, and obesity. Parents and teachers should therefore teach children to choose carefully what to eat, since this choice will have an impact on their health. In other cases parents offer a bad example, by consuming too much alcohol, eating too much cakes, and doing little or any sport activity at all.

Children waste sometimes precious hours sitting in front of TVs and computers instead of playing outside or playing sport. Exercising is not only a powerful way to lose weight and shape the body, it represents also an excellent opportunity to make new friends.

So, in conclusion, what are the solutions? First, parents and teachers should play a major role in explaining how essential is to pay attention to eating healthy. Children should always eat fruit and vegetables and do sport activities. Second, the government can take energetic steps as well by rising taxes on foods high in sugar. This simple action would have a double effect: on one side, the higher prices would also discourage buyers to purchase this kind of foods and on the other one, the money collected could be invested in programs aiming to cure patients affected by obesity.

In conclusion I would urgently recommend families and schools to stress the importance of following an healthy diet, beginning from the childhood through the whole life because what we eat can truly make the difference.