Nowadays more people are choosing to live with their friends or alone rather than with their families, this trend is likely to have a negative impact on community. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is argued that in the last years there was a change in society and the traditional family format is disappearing slowly. There are different opinions about the social impact, and many consider it will be negative in the future. I totally disagree with this statement because it is a fact that the social organization changes along the time, and it is very common that any change is observed as a possible danger.

First of all, the youth had had new opportunities in the work market in the last decades, taking them into emancipation. Before, those possibilities were reserved to families chiefs and women were not incorporated in the work world. Currently, that scenery is totally different. For instance, now the rates of the emancipation of young people are between 19 and 23 years; thirty years ago were between 25 and 30 years. Thus, it is not strange that the traditional family format is changing with the new chances for the young group.

Secondly, the dwelling trend is more directed to studio apartments, designed for one, two or three people and mostly they are located in the cities where the principal economic activities run. Now, it is usual that many people share an apartment, food, and expenses. For example, the cost of living has increased in the last years and this factor had affected the options of people, moving them to share spaces. Thereby, the economic issues are molding the social organization, pushing people to look for other options, very different from the past.

To conclude, it is a normal event that the social organization changes in relation to the economic environment and that inevitably will switch the family order to different forms of society.