With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to provide enough food for a growing population is an urgent worldwide problem, nowadays. A significant body of opinion is that GM foods are an alternative to this inconvenient. In my point of view, aliments genetically modified have plenty advantages and are a possible solution, however, this advance can has negative aspects.

Currently, GM foods are a widespread business around the world that provide large profits, and the companies that produce these seeds almost have a commercial monopoly in several countries. The success is due to grains, fruits and vegetables genetically modified have enormous advantages; they have a long durability, better shapes, colour and are resistant against different types of plagues. In short, GM foods seem to be the solution to the usual problems on crops since they are able to achieve a massive production that could decrease food prices; thus solving the feeding problem.

On the contrary, this modern seeds are creating the extinction of native species, that do not have all those advantages. Additionally, small farmers cannot compete against big producers that are able to sell their production at lower prices. For instance, in Bolivia many species of potatoes are disappearing since they are not enough competitive and productive to the market. Therefore, small producers are not sowing native species and are choosing the GM variety, that are approved in the market. On the whole, this advance on the production of food are risking native species and the existence of genetic diversity.

In conclusion, GM foods are able to produce enough quantities of food to solve the global feeding problem. Though, on the other side, this important advance are menacing the variety of food. Thus, I consider that it is important to protect native species to this genetic monopoly, to avoid their imminent extinction.